‘Your Swords do not Concern me at all’: The Liberation Theology of Islamic Christianity

Miller, Duane Alexander. 2011. ‘”Your Swords do not Concern me at all”: The Liberation Theology of Islamic Christianity’ in St Francis Magazine, Vol 7:2, pp 228-260.

Download the article from St Francis Magazine HERE, or from Scribd HERE.

Here is an excerpt:

Whether right or wrong, many persons in this group feel certainthat the only thing holding hundreds of thousands of people— maybe millions—from leaving the ‘slavery of Islam’ for ‘the love of God in Christ’ is fear of punishment and persecution. Some have crossed that threshold. Their message is, “Now is the time for evangelism,” and “Love alone can remove grudges, and forgivenessalone can blot out transgression. To die for the killer is the only way to annul killing” (Rishawi 175), and “A man who can disagree and yet remain gracious with you is a hundred times greater than agod who cannot bear divergence of opinion or criticism—the dictator’s fragile throne” (qtd in Andrew and Janssen 15). The dictator’s fragile throne is the entire oppressive system of the Islamic shari’a,and in the words of Fatima al-Mutayri, the goal is “civility that is transparent in appearance // and a new civilization in all measures and laws.” It is this new civilization that is the Promised Land to which these exiles are travelling. Whether or not they will ever arrive, only time will tell.
I also argue in this article that American evangelicals fundamentally misunderstand the original meaning of the term ‘contextualization’ and I argue that the original work of Shoki Coe and Robert Schreiter is superior to the later evangelical approaches of authors like Phil Parshall.
Author: duanemiller

I was born in Montana and grew up in Colorado and Puebla (in Mexico). I completed a BA in philosophy at the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) and then an MA in theology at St Mary's University (also in San Antonio). Later life took me to Jordan where my wife and I studied Arabic, to Israel where I helped found a seminary, and to Scotland for doctoral work, among other places. I'm highly interested in the interactions of Islam, Christianity and secularism in modern contexts. My main areas of research for my PhD in divinity were religious conversion from Islam to Christianity, contextual theology, and the shari'a's treatment of apostates. I've also published research on global Anglicanism and the history of Anglican mission in the Ottoman Empire. I've had the pleasure of teaching in many places over the years: from Costa Rica to Turkey, and Kenya to Tunisia. Presently, I live in San Antonio where I am lecturer and researcher in Muslim-Christian relations at The Christian Institute of Islamic Studies (ticks.org), and sometime adjunct professor of theology at St Mary's University. Visit my blog (duanemiller.wordpress.com) or academia.edu page for more information or to have me speak at your church, university or seminary.

2 thoughts on “‘Your Swords do not Concern me at all’: The Liberation Theology of Islamic Christianity”

Leave a Reply

