Review of Saiid Rabiipour’s “Farewell to Islam” (Xulon 2009)

Farewell To IslamFarewell To Islam by Saiid Rabiipour
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Saiid Rabiipour was born in Tehran, Iran, and this book is the story of his life, including his childhood, emigration to the USA, marriage, and conversion to evangelical Christianity.

Most of the book takes place after his conversion to Christianity though, during a visit back in Iran in the 2005, long after his conversion. He had originally been in the Iranian Navy, and had been sent to the USA under the Shah’s government for training. He went AWOL during that time, having decided to stay in the USA. Not surprisingly, this eventually catches up with him and the Iranian government wants him to pay back the funds they spent on him for training. In Iran he is plunged into a labyrinth of government and military offices, and time after time his attempts to resolve the situation are frustrated. Hi is trapped in Iran. Eventually he concludes that he is going to be imprisoned and interrogated and tortured (which is not an unrealistic conclusion), and decides to hire smugglers to take him through Iranian Kurdistan into Turkish Kurdistan. He returns home safe and sound to his family and friends.

He is writing both for Western Christians who want to know more about Iran and Persian culture, and Islam in general, but also for Iranian Muslims, and he makes the case that Christianity is the religion of freedom and love–things which cannot be found in Islam, in his point of view.

The book is self-published, and has numerous errors in editing and formatting. All in all, though, people interested in religious conversion and Iranians of different backgrounds will find this an interesting book, even if they are not in the end convinced by his religious arguments for the superiority of Christ over Muhammad.

Duane Alexander Miller

Lecturer in Church History and Theology

Nazareth Evangelical Theological Seminary

View all my reviews

Author: duanemiller

I was born in Montana and grew up in Colorado and Puebla (in Mexico). I completed a BA in philosophy at the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) and then an MA in theology at St Mary's University (also in San Antonio). Later life took me to Jordan where my wife and I studied Arabic, to Israel where I helped found a seminary, and to Scotland for doctoral work, among other places. I'm highly interested in the interactions of Islam, Christianity and secularism in modern contexts. My main areas of research for my PhD in divinity were religious conversion from Islam to Christianity, contextual theology, and the shari'a's treatment of apostates. I've also published research on global Anglicanism and the history of Anglican mission in the Ottoman Empire. I've had the pleasure of teaching in many places over the years: from Costa Rica to Turkey, and Kenya to Tunisia. Presently, I live in San Antonio where I am lecturer and researcher in Muslim-Christian relations at The Christian Institute of Islamic Studies (ticks.org), and sometime adjunct professor of theology at St Mary's University. Visit my blog (duanemiller.wordpress.com) or academia.edu page for more information or to have me speak at your church, university or seminary.

2 thoughts on “Review of Saiid Rabiipour’s “Farewell to Islam” (Xulon 2009)”

  1. Thanks for the reviews, my second book “Trapped in Iran” should have corrected the errors as well as answers many questions I received after the publication of my first book.

  2. Thank you Saiid, I review books about converts from Islam every now and then, so please keep an eye on the blog. Also, best wishes with the new edition of your book. I hope to publish a more complete analysis of your book soon.

Leave a Reply

