Review of Christopher Alam’s ‘Out of Islam’

Out Of Islam: One Muslim's Journey to Faith in ChristOut Of Islam: One Muslim’s Journey to Faith in Christ by Christopher Alam
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Alam was born to a Muslim family in Pakistan and this is the story of his life, from his childhood, up to the recent past as he has engaged in preaching and evangelism all around the world.

The author tells of his abusive childhood and his lack of inner peace. His relationship with his father is constantly strained all the way until the end of the book.

Interesting sections involve his relation to the Family, which during Alam’s time with them was shifting from a charismatic community to a strange cult. As is the case with most converts from Islam to Christianity who publish their life stories, he includes the story of his flight from Pakistan to Afghanistan to Russia to Europe, which I found to be on the most interesting parts of the books. Eventually he settles down in Europe and marries a local lady. Even later they feel called by God to move to the USA. Other high points are interesting insights into life and his ministry in communist Poland, including some reminiscences about the late Pope John Paul II (whom we learn spoke in tongues).

The main thing that sets this book apart from other conversion narratives from Islam to Christianity is that Alam becomes a Pentecostal Christian. And folded into this book is also an apologia for Pentecostal Christianity, including repeated statements that miraculous powers come from God and not man, that humility is essential, but that Pentecostal Christians do indeed experience God in a way that is superior to how the rest of us normal Christians do. Many allegations of astounding miracles are included, like the raising of the dead.

I felt that his purpose was not only to provide something for Muslims considering Christianity, which is a common reason for such books to be written and published, but also that he wants to convince Christians to jump into Pentecostalism and ‘experience the power of the Holy Spirit’. Indeed, power is a main theme in this book, though it does not surface in most conversion narratives from Islam to Christianity. For instance, in Saiid Rabiipour‘s book his main theme is freedom, and in Steven Masood‘s it is that Christianity provides light and truth. There is a counter-cultural element here though, inasmuch as Alam shows by his own example how a Christian must live humbly, even confessing his sin in front of an entire church. Such an act of self-humiliation is unthinkable in most Muslim cultures, but Alam says that his Christian faith required it.

The book is a welcome addition to a growing number of books wherein ex-Muslim Christians tell their story of coming to faith in Christ. Other books by Pakistani converts are Into the Light: A Young Muslim’s Search for Truth and I Dared To Call Him Father And The Shaming Of The Strong and The Torn Veil.

View all my reviews

Author: duanemiller

I was born in Montana and grew up in Colorado and Puebla (in Mexico). I completed a BA in philosophy at the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) and then an MA in theology at St Mary's University (also in San Antonio). Later life took me to Jordan where my wife and I studied Arabic, to Israel where I helped found a seminary, and to Scotland for doctoral work, among other places. I live in Madrid now where I teach and minister. I'm highly interested in the interactions of Islam, Christianity and secularism in modern contexts. My main areas of research for my PhD in divinity were religious conversion from Islam to Christianity, contextual theology, and the shari'a's treatment of apostates. I've also published research on global Anglicanism and the history of Anglican mission in the Ottoman Empire. I've had the pleasure of teaching in many places over the years: from Costa Rica to Turkey, and Kenya to Tunisia. I am at-large lecturer and researcher in Muslim-Christian relations at The Christian Institute of Islamic Studies (www.tciis.org), and deacon at the Cathedral Church of the Redeemer in Madrid, Spain. Visit my blog (duanemiller.wordpress.com) or academia.edu page for more information or to have me speak at your church, university or seminary.

2 thoughts on “Review of Christopher Alam’s ‘Out of Islam’”

  1. Alam is a heretic. I’ve heard him preach. He tells us that God needs our help in things and that we not only control but thatI weu command the Holy Spirit. Trust me when I tell you, the muslims have him exactly where they want him.

  2. I am not sure of Christopher Alam’s doctrine, but I love him for his desire to proclaim the “LOVE OF JESUS” to his muslim friends and the lost. I want to encourage him to continue his walk in drawing closer to the Lord and proclaiming what Jesus has done for you and I. I am not pentecostal and the worship services are at times quieter in nature, but I want to pray for those who are marching on and declaring with their voices as loud as they want that God gave his ONLY BEGOTTEN SON to unselifishly and lovingly dreadfully suffer and die on the cross for you and me.

Leave a Reply

