Rosslyn Chapel, Scotland

Rosslyn Chapel, Scotland

Rosslyn Chapel, Scotland

 

Statue at Rosslyn Chapel

Rosslyn Chapel, Scotland

Rosslyn Chapel, Scotland

This chapel is full of mysteries. It appears to have engravings of North American plants (like Indian corn), but it was built several years before the voyage of Columbus. They don’t let us take pictures inside, so sorry about that, but the Rosslyn Chapel website has a lot of very good information and pictures of the interior engravings, including one of Satan himself and another of Lucifer, bound and suspended upside-down. The chapel experienced a surge of popularity after Dan Brown set part of his lamentable book, the Da Vinci Code, there.

Author: duanemiller

I was born in Montana and grew up in Colorado and Puebla (in Mexico). I completed a BA in philosophy at the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) and then an MA in theology at St Mary's University (also in San Antonio). Later life took me to Jordan where my wife and I studied Arabic, to Israel where I helped found a seminary, and to Scotland for doctoral work, among other places. I'm highly interested in the interactions of Islam, Christianity and secularism in modern contexts. My main areas of research for my PhD in divinity were religious conversion from Islam to Christianity, contextual theology, and the shari'a's treatment of apostates. I've also published research on global Anglicanism and the history of Anglican mission in the Ottoman Empire. I've had the pleasure of teaching in many places over the years: from Costa Rica to Turkey, and Kenya to Tunisia. Presently, I live in San Antonio where I am lecturer and researcher in Muslim-Christian relations at The Christian Institute of Islamic Studies (ticks.org), and sometime adjunct professor of theology at St Mary's University. Visit my blog (duanemiller.wordpress.com) or academia.edu page for more information or to have me speak at your church, university or seminary.

3 thoughts on “Rosslyn Chapel, Scotland”

  1. Yeah. I’d like to visit it someday.
    It’s interested that they’ve tried at the bast to see Satan as to be bounded upside down, do u think they was believing it happened already, or was it there expectations from revelation?

  2. Hi John, not sure really. I Think that Dante’s Inferno has Satan upside down at the bottom of hell. There was another carving of Satan, but not tied up and not upside down, but two lovers were running away from him.

  3. Re the Inferno, whether Satan is “upside down” depends upon how you approach him, both literally and (I’m sure Dante would love this) metaphorically.

    If you came at him from Hell, as Dante and Vergil did, then he is right-side up, stuck in the ice at the centre of the earth.

    If you came at him from Purgatory–the path they subsequently took towards Paradise–then he is upside down.

Leave a Reply

