Pictures from the Harem at Topkapı Palace

I am here in Istanbul for teaching (and learning, of course). Here are a few pictures I was able to take when not preparing lectures or teaching or leading discussions or whatever it is a professor does:

Wonderful colors.
Wonderful colors.
I like the color decorations around the upper windows.
I like the color decorations around the upper windows.
Tiles.
Tiles.
The court of the Haram.
The court of the Haram.
A warming kettle
A warming kettle
I loved this metal lattice.
I loved this metal lattice.
One of the haram rooms.
One of the haram rooms.
Domes everywhere.
Domes everywhere.
I liked the windows high in the walls.
I liked the windows high in the walls.
The main hall for guests. This couch would have been for the Sultan, though there was a balcony for the women to the left and up.
The main hall for guests. This couch would have been for the Sultan, though there was a balcony for the women to the left and up.
Me in the great hall.
Me in the great hall.
More domes,
More domes,
Some domes have skylights.
Some domes have skylights.
Some domes have skylights.
Some domes have skylights.
To the left is a shelf for cleaning dishes.
To the left is a shelf for cleaning dishes.
Tiles.
Tiles.
Pictures from Topkepi Palace on the Golden Horn, and then mostly from the Harem.
Pictures from Topkepi Palace on the Golden Horn, and then mostly from the Harem.
Author: duanemiller

I was born in Montana and grew up in Colorado and Puebla (in Mexico). I completed a BA in philosophy at the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) and then an MA in theology at St Mary's University (also in San Antonio). Later life took me to Jordan where my wife and I studied Arabic, to Israel where I helped found a seminary, and to Scotland for doctoral work, among other places. I'm highly interested in the interactions of Islam, Christianity and secularism in modern contexts. My main areas of research for my PhD in divinity were religious conversion from Islam to Christianity, contextual theology, and the shari'a's treatment of apostates. I've also published research on global Anglicanism and the history of Anglican mission in the Ottoman Empire. I've had the pleasure of teaching in many places over the years: from Costa Rica to Turkey, and Kenya to Tunisia. Presently, I live in San Antonio where I am lecturer and researcher in Muslim-Christian relations at The Christian Institute of Islamic Studies (ticks.org), and sometime adjunct professor of theology at St Mary's University. Visit my blog (duanemiller.wordpress.com) or academia.edu page for more information or to have me speak at your church, university or seminary.

3 thoughts on “Pictures from the Harem at Topkapı Palace”

Leave a Reply

