The Liberation Theology of Steven Masood

Miller, Duane Alexander. 2010. ‘Into the Light: the Liberation Theology of Steven Masood, a Christian ex-Muslim’ in St Francis Magazine Vol 6:4, Aug, pp 630-637.

In this article I propose that there is a form of contextual liberation theology advanced by ex-Muslim Christians which is distinct from the liberation theology found in Latin America. I go on to analyze Masood’s auto-biography/conversion narrative and give examples of how in that work he is engaging in said liberation theology, which is focused on wisdom and praxis, rather than systematization.

Excerpt:

One of the recurring themes in this book is how religious figures and his family deal with his search for knowledge. By his teens Masood had been exposed to Ahmadiyya Islam, Sunni Islam, and Christianity, and he had formed a sort of research program that compared the teachings of those three communities. The most common reaction to Masood’s questions was to be told to be quiet, obey, and believe. This was hardly satisfying to him […]

Read the entire article for free HERE.

Author: duanemiller

I was born in Montana and grew up in Colorado and Puebla (in Mexico). I completed a BA in philosophy at the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) and then an MA in theology at St Mary's University (also in San Antonio). Later life took me to Jordan where my wife and I studied Arabic, to Israel where I helped found a seminary, and to Scotland for doctoral work, among other places. I live in Madrid now where I teach and minister. I'm highly interested in the interactions of Islam, Christianity and secularism in modern contexts. My main areas of research for my PhD in divinity were religious conversion from Islam to Christianity, contextual theology, and the shari'a's treatment of apostates. I've also published research on global Anglicanism and the history of Anglican mission in the Ottoman Empire. I've had the pleasure of teaching in many places over the years: from Costa Rica to Turkey, and Kenya to Tunisia. I am associate professor at the Protestant Faculty of Theology at Madrid (UEBE) and priest at the Anglican Cathedral of the Redeemer in Madrid, Spain. Visit my blog (duanemiller.wordpress.com) or academia.edu page for more information.

2 thoughts on “The Liberation Theology of Steven Masood”

  1. Duane

    Having just read the book, Into the Light, I feel you have been very fair to the title of your Blog. I say this having served in West Africa for a decade and knowing the challenges of seeking to witness in love to Muslims.

    Our Wesleyan in origin church (Ashburton Uniting ) has a growing number of Sudanese beleivers who have suffered much for their colour and their faith.

    Alhamdulillahi

    Graeme Rule

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.